A List of 100

pen and paperI recently discovered the Litemind website (http://litemind.com). The site is ran by Luciano Passuello and his goal is to help his readers “explore ways to use their minds efficiently.” I decided to subscribe to Luciano’s blog and newsletter and so far I have been extremely impressed.

In his most recent email, Luciano threw out a great challenge – take on your next issue by creating a “list of 100.” I was intrigued and since I had a new challenge on my plate, I decided to give it a try.

I needed to come up with ideas for a marketing campaign for work. Though I can’t divulge the contents of the campaign, I can mention that we are starting work on an internal campaign to get our own teams on board long before we launch the campaign publically. This is where I tried my first list of 100.

I sat down in front of my computer and started typing on a clean Word doc (wish I could use Apple’s Pages). The first 30 or so were easy, the next 20 or so were a challenge. And the final 22 actually started becoming fun. Okay. Do the math. I only made it to 72 not the 100 I had hoped for, but it was my first time doing it so I feel pretty good about the results.

Interestingly enough, I started looking over my list and compared it to Luciano’s “dynamics.” To sum up:

  • The first 30 entries or so: where you escape circular thinking
  • The second 40 entries: where patterns emerge
  • The last 30 entries: where the gems are

As I looked at my condensed list of 72, I could actually see these dynamics occurring. No, I didn’t make it to 100, but the patterns were definitely there. I love this process and will be adding it to my arsenal. Next time around I will definitely set aside the appropriate amount of time as well.

If you are interested in innovation, creativity or marketing, the Litemind blog is great reading. Thanks to Luciano for providing such a great resource.

Jason's Signature

One thought on “A List of 100

Leave a Reply

