Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh: Book Review

Delivering Happiness book coverBefore I say anything about Tony Hsieh’s book, “Delivering Happiness,” I would first like to thank him and the Delivering Happiness team for selecting me to receive an advanced copy of the book. They actually provided me with two copies of the book – one to read, another to giveaway on my blog. Thanks for including me in your efforts and for allowing me to take part in the pre-release party. On to the review.

Business writing is changing and I hope that it doesn’t go unnoticed by corporations, authors and publishers. There is a valuable lesson to be learned here. I first noticed it when I read “rework” by Jason Fried And the 37signals team. Delivering Happiness is the second example. What are these authors doing that is so special? They are humanizing business writing and their efforts are redefining what it means to build a successful business.

In Delivering Happiness, Tony Hsieh makes it clear that success should no longer defined by the size of your paycheck. It is about living a meaningful life filled with wonderful experiences. This is what truly makes Delivering Happiness a unique book. It is a book that focuses on creating a workplace that people love working in and that is focused on the long term development of all its team members.

It is probably worth saying that I have been a fan of the company for some time now and I have bought a few shoes, books and other merchandise from them. I have experienced their amazing level of service as a customer first hand. Reading about all of their efforts behind the scene makes for a great read.

The first two sections of the book focus on Tony’s life – from his childhood and time spent in college to his time building LinkShare and then Zappos. I’ve heard bits and pieces of the Zappo’s story, however, I was unaware of the major sacrifices that the company’s entire team endured to make their dream a reality. In addition to the history lessons, the first two sections are jam packet with actionable ideas that could help any business prosper.

Overall, Delivering Happiness is an outstanding book and it deserves to be read by entrepreneurs, c-suite staff, marketers, and anyone that is interested in living a life that is filled with meaning and happiness.

I will be back tomorrow with a review of the last section of Tony’s book where he turns back to the reader and asks what she wants out of life and business.

Make sure to read Roy Osing’s review of Delivering Happiness.

2 thoughts on “Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh: Book Review

Leave a Reply

