Weekly Gems

I thought I would do something different this week. Instead of posting links to great articles that I have run into throughout the week, I wanted to share info about the best albums I am currently listening to. I hope you enjoy these and your feedback is always welcome.

Thistled Spring, by Horse FeathersThistled Spring, by Horse Feathers

I’ve been listening to Horse Feathers for about the last two years and I have really enjoyed all of their albums. Thistled Spring is by far my favorite of their albums. The band really seemed to push themselves and come up with some varied and beautiful sounds.

Horse Feathers on MySpace
Official Site

women and country by jakob dylanWomen+Country, by Jakob Dylan

I really enjoyed listening to the Wallflowers, however, I must say that Jakob Dylan has matured so much with his solo efforts. This is a beautiful album. Jakob’s vocals are superb and has definitely created something of his own that sets him apart from his father.

I’ve only had a chance to listen to the songs 2 or 3 times now and I can’t say which are my favorite as of yet.

Official Site

Strict Joy by Swell Season

Strict Joy, by Swell Season

This is by far my favorite album of the year. I have been listening to them every since I discovered the movie “Once.” If you have not seen the movie you really should. It is a beautiful film. What has been amazing to watch has been their music careers since then. They started of with their self titled album, Swell Season, which was basically a rehash a collection of songs from Once.

Strict Joy is their best album. I know that is saying a lot. The music from Once was great. I loved it. But I think I enjoyed this album more because I knew it was music they had created together for the sake of creating music, instead of it being tied to a movie.

The great news is that Swell Season is coming to Utah in August. Cassie and I will be there.

Official Site

Leave a Reply

