Big Launch, No Product: How Reebok made Christmas shopping a royal pain in the butt.

Did you happen to see the great commercials for Reebok’s new shoes, the Easytones? As someone that does not watch much television, even I had a hard time missing this product launch. Even if I had, my wife wasn’t about to let me miss it. Between the hilarious commercials and all the word of mouth it seems that Reebok has a hit on their hands.

But there’s a glitch – if your wife wants a pair for Christmas (especially in pink, size 8.5), good luck because everyone is out of them. I’ve look at all the sporting goods stores here in Salt Lake (Sports Authority does not even carry Reebok shoes) and I spent many hours online. Even Amazon and Zappos were out the last time I looked! Oh, and the one place you might expect to have them, Reebok.com, was out of them as well.

There’s nothing like having a success on your hands and not having any product to fill the demand. Ouch. I bet there is a buyer or two at Reebok that is hurting this holiday season.

What’s the moral? Here I am, a customer in need. I had the $100 in hand ready to buy these shoes for my wife’s Christmas present and Reebok has made it impossible to purchase the shoes. I’ve been a loyal Nike fan for years and Reebok had a chance to win some of my family’s business. Great product launch, no shoes, no $100 for Reebok. I wonder just how many people have had similar experiences with Reebok this holiday season?

2 thoughts on “Big Launch, No Product: How Reebok made Christmas shopping a royal pain in the butt.

Leave a Reply

