How Comcast took a bad situation and turned it around

This is a follow up to my previous post from earlier today. Let me run down the events and then I’ll let you know what Comcast did to turn a bad experience into a good one:

  1. I signed up for Comcast Internet earlier this week. I had been procrastinating on this for a while now, but looked up Comcast earlier this week and they had some great deals going on so I signed up online. Part of the online process was selecting your install date – I chose today (from 8 a.m. to noon mainly because it is the only day that I am available (work is a little crazy as of late).
  2. I woke up early this morning and waited for the technician to show up. And waited. And waited. And…
  3. After not getting any call and no one showing up, I jumped online (via a crappy Cricket wireless modem) and started a chat session with a Comcast rep. S/he informed me that my appointment was incorrect and that there wasn’t anything that could be done other than reschedule for next week. She followed this up with a ‘if you have additional problems, you’ll have to call 1-800-comcast.’ Ouch. I know Comcast is a customer service oriented business so this answer shocked me a bit. If you’re going to tout your customer service, empower your people to solve your customers’ problems.
  4. I couldn’t give up and called 1-800-comcast. Once again, I got the same run around. ‘Maybe your appointment was entered incorrectly; however, all I can do is reschedule your intallation time for next Saturday.’ Part of me understood the situation; however, this was not the first time that I’d had a problem with appointments (see my previous post for more info). I rescheduled, hung up and decided to give it one more try. I fired up the computer again and went online.
  5. First, I wrote a brief blog post discussing my situation. Then I went to my Twitter account and posted a quick reference to my post along with a #comcast tag. Here’s what happened:

    Twitter conversation with Comcast
    Twitter conversation with Comcast
  6. After spending a few minutes on Twitter with ComcastMelissa, I was assured that they were working on the problem and that I would hear from someone.
  7. Then I got a phone call from my local Comcast office and spoke with Alisa. She assured me that they were working on the issue. They hoped to get a rep out to my place the same day. Sure enough, by 4:30 p.m. the team at Comcast had taken a bad situation and turned it completely around.

I am now writing this post from my new Comcast high-speed Internet connection. I want to thank ComcastMellisa, Alisa, and the service guy (didn’t catch his name) who all worked together to make this a great experience.

What’s the lesson in all of this? I work in marketing and deal with these same issues on a daily basis. When you tout yourself as a leader in customer service and when you use this as your differentiating point, you have to deliver. When you deliver, you have to deliver in a big way. You have to be the best. I was impressed with how well Comcast was listening via Twitter and even more impressed with their “urgent service recovery.” Thanks for the concern and sincere follow through. Comcast will definitely remain on my list of companies to do business with and I will be talking about this experience with everyone I know.

 

One thought on “How Comcast took a bad situation and turned it around

  1. I’m glad to hear that there are companies are utilizing and doing what social networking is capable of helping them do. Your blog re-emphasizes what my new media professor is currently teaching. Thanks jason.

Leave a Reply

