Disney Institute (days 3 & 4)

The last couple days with the Disney Institute have been quite informative. Day three was spent learning about managing our team and day four looked specifically at how to deliver the “wow” experience to our guests. The Disney team has learned a ton from their many years in business and I look forward to taking the tools they have graciously shared with us in the institute and start molding them to our situation in the grocery retail business.

I’ve had several big takeaways from this experience. First, I work for a fantastic company. The fact that Associated Food Stores sent us to such a remarkable training program speaks volumes. Second, I work with an amazing group of people. I’ve dreamed of finding a team like this to work with and here I am. Third, everything we do moving forward has to revolve around and involve our corporate and retail teams.

My most important realization was that we now have to take everything we’ve learned and truly figure out what is the right thing to do for our business. We can’t take tools from Disney and just drop them onto our culture. We have different teams and work in a different industry. We have a lot of work ahead of us and I know we can climb this mountain.

Thanks again to the Disney Institute for opening your doors to us. You’ve gone overboard to make us feel welcome and I hope to return someday for additional training.

One thought on “Disney Institute (days 3 & 4)

  1. I am very jealous, and have read your posts with much interest. I know I will not have the chance to participate in the DI while I am at the District, but maybe some time in the future. Good luck with everything you’ve learned, and especially on your big week coming up.

Leave a Reply

