Kindle Updating…

//www.siliconrepublic.com.
The Kindle 2.0 - image from http://www.siliconrepublic.com.

While my Kindle is updating with the latest software updates, I thought I would quickly make a few comments about the big news today about the Kindle 2.0. I have to admit, I am a little bummed. I read a few reviews today about the new version (read here) and love the new look. From what I read, the new version is more about updating the look and feel of the Kindle; however, the actual device is what is has been.

I guess this is good news. At least the brand new Kindle 1.0 that I got for Christmas will still be supported for a while. One thing that I found interesting is that the new Kindle has support for 3G networks and many subscriptions will be available for free (mainly blogs). I’m sorry, but I want to be able to read my blogs for free on my Kindle 1.0 device. It this turns out to be true, I am going to be a little urked.

As I said in my post yesterday, Amazon’s tight control on all Kindle content is a little tough to deal with. I have no doubt that Apple’s version will allow users access to content that is already free (blogs) without turning it into a revenue stream. Please Amazon – give me access to my blogs for free!

Leave a Reply

