Blogs on the Kindle: A Small Complaint

Dear Amazon,

I love my Kindle; however, is it really necessary to charge me for every little thing I do with it? Honestly, I am purchasing a couple books a month and paid a hefty price for the device in the first place. You then want to charge 99 cents it I want to subscribe to any blogs through my Kindle. Why is this? I can use my Google reader account anytime I want and read the 20+ blogs I subscribe to anytime, anywhere I want for free. I wish I could do the same with my Kindle and don’t understand why I can’t.

The Kindle is an awesome device and I love it. It’s just that you do not need to control every single thing I do with it. Want to add some value to the device? Here are a few suggestions:

  • Allow me to use it as my blog reader free of charge.
  • Upgrade the software to allow me to maintain my own blogs (WordPress) free of charge.
  • Upgrade the music player capabilities.
  • Make my Kindle email address free to use so I can read PDFs and other documents.

You are making your money on the books you sell and have come up with a great product that will probably spawn a revolution in the publishing field. I hope one day to be able to get all kinds of content, be it news or magazines (the ones I read), through my Kindle. As I tell my friends, the Kindle is the iPod of the book world.

Here’s the key, you don’t need to make money on every aspect of the Kindle. Give us, the owners of this great device, the ability to access blogs and other free content freely. This will only add more value to the Kindle and will build much more loyalty to it for all current and future users.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my Kindle. To date, I have not had a single issue with it. I love it – I love the convenience of having multiple books on one device (that is lighter and smaller than your average hardback book). No longer do I have to pack around three or four books in my courier bag. I’m free and loving every moment of it.

Let’s just make the device a little more open for use users. If you do, I’ll definitely rave that much more about it. I think we both understand the power of word of mouth.

Thanks,

Jason

Leave a Reply

