Good Bye Minneapolis

The sustainability conference ended today at 1 p.m. (Central). There has been a lot of info to digest and I have a ton of suggestions from AFS. Now we’ll see if they are willing to actually do something.

I am going to spend a little time this afternoon working on skeleton plan and then will we spending the evening wondering the streets, checking out the shops, and grabbing some dinner.

This has been a fun trip. I was a little scared at first, but once I had an opportunity to walk around and get my bearings, I soon realized that things here are not all that different–it’s just bigger, more liberal, and a lot more diverse. I love it. I think I need to get out more. Places like this make me realize that I have lived a very sheltered life in Utah (I’m not saying anything against how I was raised, just the culture I was raised in).

I am sitting here in a local sandwich shop. Across from me sits five teenage girls, each from a different culture. One is even in a burka (from Ethiopia). It is amazing. They are laughing and talking about all the things normal teenage girls love. It’s not a site you would see all that often in SLC.

Opportunities like this are where I really learn the most about myself.

[Caption]

Leave a Reply

